PDA

View Full Version : Funny business on a transfer?


fredk
12-14-2005, 08:23 PM
I'm transferring a domain to Resellone and in the process, got the approval email from the losing registrar.

But the weird thing is, the losing registrar's system shows that the new registrar will be EXTREMEDOMAINS.CA, INC. When I go to extremedomains.ca, it is actually namescout.com.

Is there some connection between Resellone and extremedomains.ca/namescout.com?

I'm wondering if someone happened to try to transfer a domain that I own to themselves, just at the same time I was transferring it to Resellone.

Resellone/EV1: I need a quick response. Is this transfer legit and is it you guys?

Thanks.

kasey
12-14-2005, 11:23 PM
What TLD was the transfer in, and who was the losing registrar? I've transferred at least one of every single TLD that R1 offers over, and haven't seen that come up before - but all of mine have been from Tucows. It's either said ResellOne or Everyones Internet for the losing registrar.

fredk
12-15-2005, 12:48 AM
What I'm seeing is the "winning" or new registrar (EXTREMEDOMAINS.CA, INC.). I see this when I login to the web-based interface of the losing registrar to approve the Transfer-Away. (This is not the email/approval that comes from Resellone when the transfer is initiated. This is the step after that.)

Jeff
12-15-2005, 12:58 AM
Definitely seems very very suspicious to me.

I've now transferred .com, .net, .org, .info, and .us names and each one presented Resellone as either Everyone's Internet Ltd. or Everyone's Internet Ltd. DBA Resellone.net - there have been minor differences possibily relating to character limitations or a typo in the case of a double '' for the .us registry, but I can't imagine resellone.net would be EXTREMEDOMAINS.CA without any mention anywhere. Sounds to me (just a domain enduser) like someone is trying to steal your domain, possibly scanning for when it was unlocked to transfer.

If I were you I'd deny that bogus transfer ASAP and send an email to domainmanager@resellone.net to have them look into it, and then try again.

Thanks very much for the post - with the number of transfer confirmations, it can sometimes be easy not to read each one. Now I guess it really is important not to do them on autopilot.

Laurie-Resell1
12-15-2005, 06:54 AM
I'm transferring a domain to Resellone and in the process, got the approval email from the losing registrar.

But the weird thing is, the losing registrar's system shows that the new registrar will be EXTREMEDOMAINS.CA, INC. When I go to extremedomains.ca, it is actually namescout.com.

Is there some connection between Resellone and extremedomains.ca/namescout.com?

I'm wondering if someone happened to try to transfer a domain that I own to themselves, just at the same time I was transferring it to Resellone.

Resellone/EV1: I need a quick response. Is this transfer legit and is it you guys?

Thanks.

There is no connection between ResellOne and extremedomains.ca/namescout.com. Please email domainmanager@resellone.net so that we can check on the name specifically and help if at all possibe.